Online Social Activisim: Is it worth it?

    It seems every time I log on to my Facebook there is yet another heated argument happening. These days it usually involves the controversial Peel Water Shed debate, women rights movements or opinions about newly landed immigrants. A platform such as Facebook has given people the ability to both support one another and distribute hate.

   Online social activism, for this reason, is not only meaningful but I think it is necessary. So many times there are people who will say racist, or sexist things online that they wouldn’t say in person. That is where we get a chance to SHUT IT DOWN. I know that when individuals online, whether I know them or not, post hateful messages I react. I can feel it affect me emotionally. And, the only thing I can do, in that moment is say something. I am encouraged when I read countless people all banding together to shut down a person who chooses to make racist, homophobic, sexist statements online. It actually makes me feel like I am in some way contributing to a social cause when I challenge those narrow-minded statements. And I can imagine that those people who are being discriminated against feel supported when others stand up for them.

I think social activism plays two major roles in our society. One is bringing together people who are being oppressed and giving them a platform to expose their daily struggles, which we can all learn from. And two, it educates others, who may be more privileged that we are not all living the same reality, others struggle more, despite working their efforts.

Many times I have been reading through news stories and comments on the Black Lives Matter page and what I’ve noticed is that people, for the most part, are there to support one another. Countless times administrators of that page have posted threats or racists memes they have received through private messages. They post them publicly in order to bring attention to the fact that they are being discriminated against and support one another.

  Online social activism is about empowering one another and whether it serves to change laws or prevent prejudices from existing isn’t always clear.

Leave a comment